PASL Names All-Nationals Teams

60331548 10156543934760939 4909712927218466816 n

The Cincinnati Sirens won their third PASL Women's national championship and Metro Louisville repeated as Men's champion at Winter Nationals in Chicago in March.

The Sirens won the championship in 2019 and 2020, but didn't participate in 2021 due to COVID restrictions. After losing to the Chicago Mustangs in the preliminary rounds, Cincinnati bounced back to beat the Mustangs 3-1 in the final. Christy Zwolski, Kate Drummond and Brigit Reder all made the all PASL All-Nationals team.

"This was a big winter for us with over 80 players in our Sirens winter academy for high school players, our first academy team in the PASL, and now a third national championship," says Sirens technical director Craig Rhodis. "And this was after we had five players on the USA team that won the Minifootball World Cup in the Ukraine this past August. Our staff has worked really hard to provide the highest level of training, competition, and opportunities for our Sirens players"

"The Sirens have become the level which all of our PASL women's teams strive for," said PASL Commissioner Kevin Milliken. "Their success drives our other teams to be better, and motivates new teams to join the PASL. That was evident this year when there were three or four teams with a legitimate chance to win the championship this year."

On the men's side, Metro Louisville repeated as PASL champions, but this year also added a US Open Arena Soccer Championship title. Luis Rodriguez, Ismael Rojo, and Diego Reynoso made the PASL All-Nationals team. Louisville beat Wichita Selection in the PASL final in a shootout before capturing the US Open cup championship in a 4-0 victory over the State Line Falcons.

"Metro Louisville is a very talented team with some experienced players, and it showed throughout the tournament. Adding the US Open this year added another level of competition, and we look forward to continued growth in both the PASL and US Open competitions next year." says Milliken.

All-Tournament teams

Men 1st Team

Luis Rodriguez - Louisville
Ismael Rojo - Louisville
Radley Arnold - Wichita
Jose Cruz Jr. - State Line
Jorge Pena - Des Moines
Diego Reynoso - Louisville

Men 2nd Team

Lucio Martinez - Houston
Ricardo Orozco - Chicago
Damian Bolanos - State Line
Manny Adjei - Brew City
Tico Rodriguez - Wichita
Jose Ocampo - Wichita

Men 3rd Team

Rapha Nascimento - Des Moines
Wyssam Zaban - Houston
Dom Alvarado - Kansas City
Nestor Dominguez - Chicago
Chris Bugay - Indiana
Alek Greenleaf - Tacoma

Women 1st Team

Valerie Battisti - Chicago
Nina Nicosia - Chicago
Christy Zwolski - Cincinnati
Kate Drummond - Cincinnati
Kenne Kessler - Dallas
Casey McKinney - Columbus

Women 2nd Team

Jen LaPonte - Houston
Laura Throckmorton - Houston
Brigit Reder - Cincinnati
Natalia Torres - Dallas
Ashley Gogolin - Columbus
Alexa Seiler - Chicago

Approve & Close

This website uses browser cookies to identify authorized users, enhance user experience and collect usage statistics via third-party tools like Google Analytics. Some web pages may use cookies to identify users and customize advertising content to user interests. Please indicate if you approve this website to use cookies for these purposes.

Approve & Close
No results found Searching... Please enter 1 or more characters Please delete some character The results could not be loaded. Loading more results… Selection too big